Skip to main content

Safety Committee

The WVU Facilities Management Safety Committee is intended to act as a clearinghouse for campus safety concerns, and to raise employee awareness relating to safe work practices.  This cross sectional committee hopes to specifically:
 

NOTE:
A member of the Facilities Management Safety Committee -OR- an appropriate safety professional will follow up with you about your reported safety concern within 1 week of receiving the form.

If you would like to find out the status of your reported safety concern, click on Current Safety Committee Workload below. If the concern does not pose an imminent threat to life and limb, it will be added to the status sheet after no more than 14  days after it is first reported.

Current Safety Committee Workload pdf
Completed Safety Workload 2014 pdf
Building Codes pdf
Annual Accident Reports
Annual Reviews

The WVU Safety Committee is comprised of Facilities & Services employees and students who work to address safety concerns for employees, students, and campus visitors. The committee relies on the campus population to bring safety concerns to the committee so that they can be addressed.

Committee Members:


Brad Kerns 
Bradley.Kerns@mail.wvu.edu
Brian Lemme
brian.lemme@mail.wvu.edu
304-293-8742
Carolyn Walker
Carolyn.Walker@mail.wvu.edu
304-293-3496
Chris Chico
Christopher.Chico@mail.wvu.edu
304-293-8120
Christina Miller
christina.miller@mail.wvu.edu
304-293-4821
Chuck Spitznogle
Charles.Spitznogle@mail.wvu.edu
304-293-8116
Fred Athey
Fredrick.Athey@mail.wvu.edu
304-293-6025
George Calvert
George.Calvert@mail.wvu.edu
304-293-8935
Jeff Smith
jeff.smith@mail.wvu.edu
304-293-5023
John Hardesty
John.Hardesty@mail.wvu.edu
304-293-8125
Phil Starsick
Philip.Starsick@mail.wvu.edu
304-293-2885
Thomasine Weber
Tommie.Weber@mail.wvu.edu
304-293-4255 ext. 25016
Tim Suhrer
Tim.Suhrer@mail.wvu.edu
304-293-6558
Tom Berkshire
tom.berkshire@mail.wvu.edu
304-293-8116
Vernon Hilling
Vernon.Hilling@mail.wvu.edu
304-293-4230
William Colvin
william.colvin@mail.wvu.edu
304-293-7418

Safety Tips

Portable Ladders
Seat Belts
Heatstroke
Thunderstorms
Noise Pollution
Eye Protection
Top Workplace Hazards
Driving on Icy Roads

Other Links Committed to Employee Safety

EH&S- Department of Environmental Health & Safety at West Virginia University
OHSA -Occupational Safety and Health Administration
HSC - Health Sciences Center Safety Office

Office of the Vice President for Strategic Initiatives